Helen DiPietra         Frank DiPietra        John V. Salierno

                                                                                     President                 Vice President         Attorney at Law.

                                                                                                                      ADVISORY BOARD

Claire Goodman                         Larry Banks                               Maureen Nappi                              Constance Halporn                              Charulata Dyal

Professor of Media Arts            Professor of Media Arts           Professor of Media Arts               Long Island University Alumna           Long Island University Alumna

Long Island University              Long Island University              Long Island University                  M.A. Multimedia                                   M.F.A. Creative Writing

                                                                                                                                                                 M.F.A. Photography                              M.F.A. Photography



                                                                                                              Email: admin@wfdfound.com

       The William F. DiPietra Foundation awards grants to Media Arts students at Long Island University, Fordham University and Archbishop Molloy High School.  Tuition grants are awarded to graduates of St. Elizabeth Catholic Academy. William (Bill) DiPietra attended all of these schools.  This year the Foundation will also sponsor a juried photography exhibition at Long Island University in June 2020. See below for application guidelines.

Long Island University

William F. DiPietra Project Finishing Grants

Winners have been announced and funds have been awarded to grant recipients (Sho Akita and Maria Palacio) due to cancellation of May 2020 Media Arts Graduate Awards Reception.

William F. DiPietra Media Arts Discretionary Awards

Discretionary awards ($500 each) will be given to two graduating MA or MFA students for outstanding final defense and presentation of their thesis paper and/or production.  Winners will be announced on April 15th, 2020. 

Photography Exhibition

Thank you to everyone who submitted images for consideration. Submissions were open to all current LIU Brooklyn students (undergraduate, graduate) and Alumni who took a class in the Media Arts department.  We are celebrating the vast diversity of artistic talent that resides in our Brooklyn Campus.  The exhibition will now be an online gallery hosted here at the William F. DiPietra Foundation website.  Winners will be announced by May 30th, 2020 and the exhibition will go live during the first week of June 2020.  We are looking forward to many more submissions for the June 2021 exhibit!


Fordham University

The Foundation presents awards ($1000 each) to two students in the Department of Communications and Media Studies and two students in the Visual Arts Department.  The recipients are chosen by the faculty.


Archbishop Molloy High School

The Foundation presents a $1000 award to a student who demonstrates a love of film and/or filmmaking.  The recipient is chosen by the faculty.

St. Elizabeth Catholic Academy

The Foundation presents tuition grants ($1000 each) to two graduating students who are attending Catholic high schools and demonstrate high levels of academic achievement.